Thursday, 12 August 2010

Latest News on Election

Latest News on Election
Inside Burma
12 Aug 2010

Yangon, August 12 -- Though the long-awaited date for elections has not yet been declared for 2010 general elections, so far 46 political parties have submitted applications to the Union Election Commission ( UEC ) to form and to exist as political parties.

According to the latest announcement made by the UEC, out of 46 political parties that have submitted applications to form and exist as political parties, 40 parties including the all powerful government’s party namely the Union Solidarity and Development Party ( USDP ) have been granted permission to register as political parties.

“The remaining six political parties are still under scrutiny for receiving the permission to register as political parties,” the announcement said.

The Union Solidarity and Development Party ( USDP ), which was formed by Prime Minister U Thein Sein and 26 other ministers and deputy ministers, who have resigned from the military posts to contest in the elections, is still by far and large the biggest and most powerful political party.

The ( USDP ) has already opened its headquarters in Nay Pyi Taw and is currently busy opening its branches throughout the country.

From among the 10 existing political parties, which had been operating for over two decades upto April this year, five political parties including pro-government National Unity Party ( former Burma Socialist Programme Party of the late General Ne Win ) have chosen to apply for their continued existence.

Hence, all these five political parties were included among 40 political parties that have been granted permission by UEC to register.

The five political parties that have boycotted 2010 elections were Aung San Suu Kyi’s National League for Democracy ( NLD ), Shan Nationalities League for Democracy ( SNLD ), Union Paoh National Organization, Shan State Kokang Democratic Party and Wa National Development Party.

Meanwhile the Union Election Commission ( UEC ) this morning designated constituencies for Pyithu Hluttaw ( House of Representatives ), Amyotha Hluttaw ( House of Nationalities ), Region and State Hluttaws.

This morning’s issue of state-owned newspapers carried a supplement showing 330 constituencies for Pyithu Hluttaw throughout Myanmar.

This is in accordance with the 2008 State Constitution, which prescribes that the Pyithu Hluttaw shall have 330 elected members plus 110 military men nominated by the Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services.

Tomorrow’s issue of state-owned newspapers is expected to carry supplement showing constituencies for Amyotha Hluttaw ( House of Nationalities ) and Region and State Hluttaws.

Note: Special thanks to the news sender from Burma Democratic Concern (BDC)

No comments:

Post a Comment