Sunday, 4 April 2010

Burma: Petition to Support 1990 Election Results

Burmese junta came to power in 18 September 1988 after killing more than 3000 peaceful demonstrators. The very military regime held the General Elections in 27 May 1990. National League for Democracy led by Aung San Suu Kyi won the landslide victory by 89.9% of the vote. The generals refused to honour it and imprisoned Aung San Suu Kyi, Student Leaders and NLD members.

The junta's Law No.14/89, "Pyithu Hluttaw(People's Assembly) Election Law," states clearly in Chapter 3 Section 3 that the "Hluttaw (Assembly) shall be formed with the Hluttaw representatives who have been elected.

The junta declared to hold the Election in 2010 to nullify the 1990 Elections result.

Burma Democratic Concern (BDC) and other Burmese prodemocracy organisations call on the people around the world to support 1990 Elections result and urge International Community not to follow junta's 2010 Election plan.

Everyone plasy the vital role in shaping the future of Burma. Burma Democratic Concern (BDC) urges all of you to sign in this petition to show your support for Burma Freedom.

For more information please visit Burma Democratic Concern (BDC) at and watch at

No comments:

Post a Comment